Chapter 6 : The Neek Gets Soaked

My next post, dear readers, was going to be about my first date, but Christy has informed me that there is one topic I should enlighten you of that occured the weekend before the date. That thing is…the last Not-Date.

Following the asking-of-Christy-on-a-date escapade, which I think we all can agree was entirely epic, the natural progression would be to set a time and make arrangements for said date, correct? Accordingly, Christy and I compared work schedules after receiving them, and agreed that the following Tuesday we would both be off. The date was set.

The logical assumption would probably be that she and I did not intend to spend a large  amount of time together between the date-setting, and the actual date, yes? Originally, I think that was our assumption too, but, as is apparently the running theme for our story, we did it all wrong.

The weekend before the “big date,” we suddenly found ourselves having a large amount of time off together…and accordingly decided to spend it together at Universal.

I would like to take a moment to mention that it never once occurred to me that it would be considered odd for some to make plans for a first date, and then proceed to hang out for a substantial amount of time together a couple days beforehand. Indeed, this fact was only brought to my attention recently (as recently, in fact, as a few days ago when I first drafted this post) by Christy.

No doubt there are those of you shaking your heads, or laughing, or hitting yourselves on the forehead with your open palm at my total lack of perception to these “obvious” dating flaws. All I can say to you is…

Hey, I still got the girl! Right??

But we’re not there yet, so stop getting ahead of me!!

Anyway, I believe I was describing our non-date…

Obviously our impending actual date did have some effect on the way Christy and I related to each other… in the way that we held hands all day. D’awwwwwww. I know, I know!

That was our “water day.” We rode Jurassic Park, Dudley Do-Right’s Ripshaw Falls and Popeye and Bluto’s Bilge-Rat Barges… and were properly soaked! As we were riding Bluto’s, it started to lightly rain and it rained until we left the park… perfect day for water rides!

All in all, our non-date was just about as perfectly enjoyable as any non-date can be, but in no way does it come close to the big one, the one we’ve all been waiting for – (duh Duh DUH) THE REAL DATE.

As the first date loomed closer, I found myself nervous and uncertain of dating protocols…  Where to go? What to do? What to wear? How to transport ourselves there?…all the usual “first date gitters” I’d assume – and yes, this was my first date. Ever.

Christy had left the schedule of the night’s events up to me, so I stuck with what I knew: Mini Golf, Dinner and a Movie.

Now for the clothes…admittedly, I panicked a little here. Upon realizing that this was perhaps an occasion worthy of carefully planned attire, I took note of my wardrobe, and was a little surprised to find that my clothing was defined by two strict categories: T-Shirts/Jeans and Business-ware. Frantically, I texted Christy asking what the dress code was, and explained my predicament. She kindly assured me that T-Shirts would, in fact, be acceptable to wear. Whew. Crisis averted (yet I swore to myself to purchase a good polo for future use!).

As for the ride…well, any of you who know me personally will know that my car is old and unreliable. Christy drove to my place, then I drove the two of us to our planned activities.

As I approached her on the walkway outside my place, I presented her with an abundance of Hershey chocolate, which I know for a fact is one of her favorites. We got in my car, and off on our date we went!

Leave a Reply

