Chapter 5: The Neek Makes a Move

In four short months (if you count from our first trip to Universal together), Christy and I had become closer than I had ever imagined we would.

So far, a lot of my writing has been about how she has affected my life…and that’s fine since this is my blog about me, but there is one thing I am particularly proud to say that I added to Christy’s life…and that thing is Futurama.

Futurama – an animated science fiction sitcom which I personally find hilarious and witty. I also frequently reference this show, so I didn’t want Christy to miss out on my unparalleled humor just because she didn’t get the punchline!…

Okay, the truth is, I mention Futurama not because it holds some important sentimental  meaning for me. I bring it up, because it was at the end of one glorious episode I was showing Christy, that a certain conversation occurred.

Frequent readers of this blog, I last left you with me asking her “Would it be wrong for me to kiss you?” (Also, I think my voice cracked like a teen in puberty when I asked that).

For your reading pleasure, I shall now recall the rest of that night’s dialogue in play format:

Myself: “Would it be wrong for me to kiss you?”
Christy: “No.”
Myself (With much confusion): “Would it be okay if I kissed you?”
Christy: “Yes.”
Silence, while I attempted to simultaneously process information while working up my nerve.
Christy again: “Well, why don’t you decide after you take me out on a real date instead of these ‘not-dates’?”
Myself, after what seemed like an eternity which was probably only like 2 seconds: “Oh, okay.”

Needless to say my awkwardness kicked in and we went back to watching a show on Netflix while my brain was going over the conversation we just had.

Brain: “What are you doing? Why didn’t you ask her out immediately instead of saying ‘okay’??”
Me: “I have no idea!  What if she says no?  I won’t have any clue what to do after that!”
Brain: “I’m pretty sure she won’t say no considering she TOLD YOU TO ASK HER OUT.”
Me: “She said a real date, not ‘ask me out’ silly brain!”
Brain: “YOU ARE SO DUMB. A real date. How do you go on a real date, HMM? BY ASKING HER OUT.”
Me: “Ok, ok! Stop yelling at me! I will ask her out!”
Brain: “About freaking time!”

So by this time it was getting pretty late, and Christy said that she should head out. As she left, I said:

Myself: “Christy,”
Christy: “Yes?”
Myself: “Want to go on a date with me next week?”

And guess what…

She said yes!

Leave a Reply

