Chapter 4: The Neek Does Not Win the Lottery

Early on in our “friendship,” Christy decided that my life lacked many things that she deemed “essential”… or at least worthy experiencing. Actually, I’m pretty sure it all started with movies and TV shows…

Rohan and Christy frequently discuss TV shows (How I Met Your Mother, Big Bang Theory, Trueblood and others) and movies…neither of which do I frequently watch. I like trains. And shows about trains. And history. And mythbusters. And…well you probably get the idea.

After many late-night, after-work hang-outs, a list was developed. The lists of “firsts”… things I was supposed to do/watch. The list originated around my birthday, in April, and I was given a year to do as many of the “firsts” (adding to it whatever I wanted) during the year.

To give you an idea, here are a few of the things I accomplished from then up until around August…

First time on a trampoline!

First time on a trampoline!

The List:

1. Jump on a Trampoline

2. Drink Margaritas

3. Attend a Pizza Hut Buffet

4. Watch Pitch Perfect, Avatar the Last Airbender, many Disney movies, The Hunger “Drinking” Games (yes, the drinking was a self added challenge!), Trueblood (okay, I only started it)

5. Play Scattergories

Me on the set of Disaster as a "volunteer" *cough Christy cough*

Me on the set of Disaster as a “volunteer” *cough Christy cough*

6. Cook Pizza (like, make it, not cook it frozen!)

7. Cut beer/wine bottles for craft-time fun

8. Be a volunteer in Universal Studios’ Disaster ride

9. Win the Lottery

Oh wait… what happened with that, was that I TRIED to win the Lottery! In fact, both Christy and I did!

One night, the same night as our Hunger “Drinking” Games, in fact, Christy and I each bought several lottery tickets. We’d been talking about it for a while, and had long since decided on splitting it 50/50 if we were to win. We already had plans on how to build our glorious dream mansion…with a lazy river, secret passageways, a roller coaster on the lawn, our own personal Steak n’ Shake-styled diner/kitchen etc…

Needless to say, when our only-slightly-intoxicated selves checked the winning numbers later that night, we were more than a little bit disappointed.

The sad face, because we didn't win :(

The sad face, because we didn’t win 😦

Coincidentally, that is also the night I began watching Disney movies I had never seen…of course, I couldn’t tell you very much more about them than I could before thanks to a large amount of Rum and Coke.

As we sat together watching Hercules, Mulan and Pocahontas, I somehow found my arm around Christy’s shoulder. Torn between my feelings towards her, and the restrictions that came from us working together, as well as my uncertainty of her affections for me, I said nothing.

The next movie/TV sessions we had turned out much the same way…us close together, me fighting my insecurities and doubts; so what do I do when I’m confused? I ask.

I believe my exact words were “Would it be wrong for me to kiss you?”

Stay tuned, readers. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

