Chapter 3: The Neek Hears a Rumor

After our initial trip alone to Universal, it was like a plug had been pulled somewhere, and we were suddenly spending countless hours together.

For one thing, I’m pretty sure we went at least once a week to Universal the first couple of months after we bought our passes. The reasons for this were:

1. It was ridiculously fun.

2. We wanted to get our money’s worth out of them!!

Other activities we did together included things like: mini golf, bowling, and movie-watching. Looking back at these activities, I now see that they were in many ways very “date-like”… a prospect I paid little attention to during this time period.

Additionally, there were always the late-night Steak and Shake hangouts to look forward to… an activity generally only Christy and I shared since Rohan tended to go straight home after work. When I say late night, I mean LATE night. We used to stay there for hours – like until 4 or 5am frequently. What would we do for all that time, you ask? Snack. Chat. Fantasize about winning the Lottery. Hold hands – I mean….

About that… I have since been informed (by Christy) that holding hands/ giving hand massages across the table several times a week for lengthy amounts of time is unusual for “just friends.” Who knew?! Okay, okay, I maybe knew that… but I just didn’t want to stop, and I was afraid of where admitting that might lead!

Needless to say, when we later visited Steak and Shake after actually beginning to date, our waitress, to my astonishment, was not surprised other than to find out that we had not actually been dating before.

Way to show off my social skills, right?

Another exciting development around July was that Christy and I both purchased annual passes to Busch Gardens! All the roller coasters! We only went twice during the summer, however, since it requires more travel time to get there.

Thomas and Christy's first trip to Busch Gardens.

Thomas and Christy’s first trip to Busch Gardens. (Christy is taking the picture)

Basically, for 3-4ish months, Christy and I were getting to know each other really well. We were spending a lot of time together, texting constantly, and ultimately becoming closer.

I know some would say that it would have been better to just “start dating already,” but I disagree. Given my past record with meeting new people…especially girls, I feel like this stage of getting to really know one another just made my feelings for Christy grow that much stronger. Also, you have to remember that we technically weren’t supposed to be spending time together outside of work, my being a manager and all.

Speaking of work, rumors of our relationship were rampant at the theatre. Rumors are typical and many-varied at the theatre, but ours were oddly specific.

Rumor: Thomas and Christy were dating.

Fact: False. (By technicality) We had never discussed dating each other or in any way had “made a move” to a more romantic relationship.

Rumor: Thomas and Christy were spotted holding hands at Chili’s.

Fact: False. We had actually never eaten at Chili’s together when that rumor started circulating. Steak and Shake, yes, but no one from the theatre was ever there when we did.

Rumor: Thomas and Christy were spotted making out in the parking lot of the theatre.

Fact: False. This had never occurred ANYWHERE, much less at our own work place. Come on, people!

I’m sure there were other rumors, but if so I can’t remember. Regardless, we were definitely an “item” at work long before we were an “item.”

By the time we finally got around to part where we were actually together, I’m happy to say that our fellow workers were thrilled and extremely  happy for us, but that part of the story is still to come…

Leave a Reply

