Chapter 1: The Neek Makes a Friend

For anyone who hasn’t figured it out yet, this blog is the story of how I met my girlfriend, stuff we do together, and stupid things I do that she makes fun of me for (and maybe vice versa).

I guess I’ll start at the beginning…

Way back in 2010, I worked as a projectionist in a big movie theatre (I still work there, by the way, but digital upgrades have forced me to diversify my position).

I’d like to say that one day my whole world ceased to exist as I knew it as I gazed into the beautiful blue eyes of our newest transfer employee, that her beauty left me speechless, that her smile was like sunlight, and that I knew we were somehow destined to be together…

I’d LIKE to say that, but the truth is, we worked together at that theatre for around 3 years before really taking notice of each other in a “beyond the workplace” kind of way. That sounds a little harsh, maybe, but I was her manager, she was a concessionist, and the two weren’t really supposed to “mix.”  It wasn’t that I didn’t know or talk to her for all that time, just that our time spent together was solely made up of coinciding shifts at work.

That being said, our friendship began sometime around the start of the New Year in 2013, but it was not until closer to April that I realized there might be something more to our story than just casual friendship.

Working at a movie theatre means working late hours frequently. As a manager, it isn’t uncommon for me to stay until somewhere between 1:30-3:30 am depending on our last showtimes. As a, for lack of a better term, “normal” employee, Christy would generally have been scheduled to finish up a closing shift at least an hour before I was finished, sometimes more.

Sometime around February of 2013, there was a shift in the usual dynamic of closing…Christy stayed. It was the first of many nights where Christy lingered after her shift was over to hang with myself and our friend, and also a Manager, Rohan. As the days became weeks, and weeks became months, our nighttime hangouts between the 3 of us became routine.

There was texting between the two of us (late night pleas for help with strange computer issues on Christy’s part), we “friended” each other on facebook etc…

March and April marked the first “non-work” excursions the 3 of us did together… the 1st was to Outback with a 4th fellow employee, the 2nd was the 3 of us at the Bowling Alley, and then a movie.

By this time, our late nights had begun to incorporate after-work visits to Denny’s and Steak and Shake as well.

Before I even realized what had occurred, I had made a new friend! I tend to be shy and anti-social around people I don’t know. Therefore, as an employee I had worked with for over 3 years, Christy had already gained an advantage in the communicate-with-Thomas category.

One of the things I discovered that she and I shared was a common obsession with all things Harry Potter! Accordingly, given our Orlando, Florida location, we together decided that a trip to Universal’s infamous Wizarding World of Harry Potter was completely necessary! Little did we know, that one idea could lead to so much more than being friends…

Leave a Reply

